GHC Home > Human Resources > Title IX

Title IX

Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 (20 U.S.C. § 1681) provides that no person shall, on the basis of sex, be excluded from participation in, be denied benefits, or be subjected to discrimination under any education program or activity receiving federal financial assistance.

The following are examples of types of sex-based discrimination prohibited by Title IX:

  • Sexual harassment, including sexual assault, occurring in connection with any academic, athletic, extracurricular, or other university program, regardless of the location;
  • Discriminatory decision-making by a supervisor of an employee based on the employee’s sex;
  • Failure to provide equitable opportunity for participation in intercollegiate sports; or disproportionate awards of athletic scholarships.

Pursuant to Title IX and its regulations (34 C.F.R. Part 106), Georgia Highlands College’s Title IX Coordinator is the designated university official with primary responsibility for coordinating the university’s compliance with Title IX and other federal and state laws and regulations relating to sex-based discrimination.

The Title IX Coordinator:

  • Promotes the creation of policies, procedures and notifications designed to ensure university compliance with Title IX;
  • oversees implementation of compliance procedures, including investigation and disposition of complaints;
  • answers questions and provides guidance about Title IX compliance and the university’s related policies and procedures;
  • acts as liaison to the state and federal agencies that enforce Title IX;
  • helps ensure the campus community and university employees with Title IX compliance responsibilities are adequately trained and educated; and
  • monitors all other aspects of the university’s Title IX compliance.

GHC’s Title IX Coordinator:

Responsible for ensuring Title IX compliance including monitoring and investigating the complaints of GHC faculty, staff, and students.

 

Virginia “Ginni” Siler, SPHR, SHRM-SCP
VPHR/Chief Human Resources Officer
3175 Cedartown Hwy SE
Rome, GA 30161
706.802.5134
gsiler@highlands.edu

 

Deputy Title IX Coordinators:

 

Stephanie Stewart, MBA-HR SHRM-CP
Employee Relations Manager
678.872.8503
sstewart@highlands.edu

 

David Mathis, Director of Athletics
3175 Cedartown Hwy SE
Rome, GA 30161
706.204.2202
dmathis@highlands.edu

 

Leslie Johnson, Campus Dean
5441 Hwy. 20 NE
Cartersville, GA  30121
678.872.8072
ljohnson@highlands.edu

 

Todd Jones, Vice President for Student Affairs/Campus Dean
3175 Cedartown Hwy SE
Rome, GA 30161
706.368.7738
tjones@highlands.edu

 

Ken Reaves, Campus Dean
1100 South Marietta Parkway
Marietta, GA 30060
678.872.8511
kreaves@highlands.edu

 

Julia Areh, Site Director
5901 Stewart Parkway
Douglasville, GA 30135
678.872.4201
jareh@highlands.edu

 

Contact the above Title IX Coordinators with any questions or concerns about sex discrimination and potential violations of Title IX.

 

Title IX Panelists:

 

Jonathan Twilley, Supervisor – Building Maintenance
5441 Hwy 20 NE
Cartersville, GA 30121
678.872.8080
jtwilley@highlands.edu

 

Michelle Boyce, Dean – Academic Health Sciences
415 E. Third Ave at Glenn Milner Blvd
Rome, GA 30161
706.295.6326
mboyce@highlands.edu

 

Alan Nichols, Dean – Academic Social Science
3175 Cedartown Hwy
Rome, GA 30161
706.368.7615
anichols@highlands.edu

 

Julius Fleschner, Dean – Libraries and College Testing
5441 Hwy 20 NE
Cartersville, GA 30121
706.368.7732
jfleschn@highlands.edu

 

Julia Areh, Site Director
5901 Stewart Pkwy
Douglasville, GA 30135
678.872.4201
jareh@highlands.edu

 

Melissa Wood, Head Coach – Softball/Advisor
5441 Hwy 20 NE
Cartersville, GA 30121
678.872.823
mwood@highlands.edu

 

Randy Green, Assistant Professor
3175 Cedartown Hwy
Rome, GA 30161
ragreen@highlands.edu

 

Sherry Green, Associate Professor
5441 Hwy 20 NE
Cartersville, GA 30121
678.872.8202
shgreen@highlands.edu

 

Jenny Walker, Coordinator – Clinical Placement
415 E. Third Ave at Glenn Milner Blvd
Rome, GA 30161
706.204.2388
vwalker@highlands.edu