Traffic Rules & Regulations
This handbook serves as the policy for all vehicles and their operators on the campuses of Georgia Highlands College. For the purpose of these regulations the term “vehicle” includes all motorized and non-motorized devices of transportation as defined by the Georgia Division of Motor Vehicles.
All Georgia Highlands College faculty, staff and students must register their vehicle before operating or parking a vehicle on campus. Vehicles may be registered and permits obtained at orientation or at the Campus Safety Office between 8:00am and 5:30pm weekdays. Parking fees must be paid at registration or at the Business Office and the receipt presented to Campus Safety prior to issuance of the permit. Student parking permits may also be obtained during in-person registration and orientation, or at any Campus Safety Office.
Faculty and Staff hang tags should be displayed from the rear view mirror, facing the windshield. Student parking decals must be displayed from the left rear passenger window. The person to whom the vehicle is registered is responsible for all violations attributed to that vehicle. Moving violations will be charged to the operator.
- Campus parking is by valid permit ONLY.
- Student Parking Permits must be renewed each Fall semester
- All fines must be paid before a new academic registration will be authorized.
- No grades will be given until all fines are paid.
- Parking permits are the property of Georgia Highlands College.
- Employee parking permits must be returned to Campus Safety at the termination of employment.
- Students accumulating more than five citations during an academic year may be subject to disciplinary action in addition to any fines.
Students $10.00 per semester (included in student fees).
Temporary permits for vehicles parking for a limited time; such as Special Events, Construction, vehicle repairs and short term Continuing Education Courses can be obtained at the Campus Safety Office.
- All vehicle operators are responsible for finding a legal parking space. Weather conditions or inconvenience are not an excuse for violating parking regulations.
- No vehicle is to be driven or parked on Georgia Highlands College in any manner that will damage grounds, buildings, landscaping or facilities.
- No vehicle will be parked at/on a yellow curb, fire lane, sidewalk, walkway, driveway, loading zone, grass or seeded area, or any athletic field.
- Students may not park in faculty and staff “Reserved” parking spaces behind the Floyd Administration Building until after 5:30 PM. Any other reserved spaces will be enforced at all times.
- No vehicle will be parked in a “No Parking”, a “Loading zone”, an area closed off by signs, barricades or other traffic control devices.
- Vehicles may not be parked in such a manner as to obstruct traffic or parking, or in any area not designated as a parking area.
- Vehicles will only be parked in marked parking stalls, and must be fully contained within the limiting lines.
- The speed limit on campus is 15 miles per hour.
- All pedestrians have the Right of Way.
- All Georgia traffic laws are to be obeyed.
- Report all vehicle accidents to Campus Safety. Local law enforcement will be asked to complete an accident report as required.
Any vehicle which appears to be abandoned, is parked for more than 24 hours without moving [except with notification to Campus Safety], or creates a fire/safety hazard may be towed. Any vehicle that is unregistered or has more than five outstanding traffic or parking violations may be towed from Campus at the owner’s expense.
|Description||Current Fine||New Rate as of July 1, 2014|
|Double Parking or parking in a NO PARKING area||$ 10.00||$ 25.00|
|Failure to display a parking permit||$ 10.00||$ 25.00|
|Other Miscellaneous Parking Fines||$ 10.00||$ 25.00|
|Parking in a Handicapped zone||$100.00||$100.00|
|Parking in a visitor or reserved parking area||$ 10.00||$ 25.00|
|Speeding or reckless driving||$ 20.00||$ 25.00|
|Stop sign or yield sign violation||$ 10.00||$ 25.00|
Written notice of a desire to appeal a citation must be made at the Office of Campus Safety within seven calendar days of the citation date. Appeals will be addressed by the Office of Student Life. Payment of citations may be made at the Business Office.