GHC Sites > School of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics > Physical Sciences

Physical Sciences

Welcome to the Division of Physical Sciences

Welcome to the Division of Physical Sciences!  The Division offers a variety of general education courses in the physical sciences leading that lead to careers and/or further degree opportunities in chemistry, engineering, geology, physics, research, education, medicine, and many other related/technical fields. Students will leave our courses with a thorough understanding of the scientific method and its implementation, physical science concepts, laboratory skills, and the technical experience required to be successful in any number of career or educational pathways. Please check out our Associate Degree pathway maps for Chemistry, Engineering, Geology, and Physics to learn how you can to can charge forward into graduation. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions.


Pathways

Chemistry Pathway Checklist and Map
Engineering Pathway Checklist and Map
Regents Engineering Pathways (REP)  
Geology Pathway Checklist and Map
Physics Pathway Checklist and Map


Physical Sciences Faculty

Physical Sciences Faculty:
Name Rank/Discipline Email Campus Office Office Phone
Chen, Guangyao Assistant Professor of Physics gchen@highlands.edu Marietta N-220 678-872-8548
Easton, Allen Associate Professor of Chemistry aeaston@highlands.edu Floyd W-340 706-368-7520
Garrison, Charles Laboratory Coordinator cgarriso@highlands.edu Floyd W-245 706-368-7534
Morris, Billy Professor of Geology bmorris@highlands.edu Floyd W-324 706-368-7528
O’Connor, Ryan Assistant Professor of Chemistry roconno@highlands.edu Marietta N-222 678-872-8534
Pergrem, Mark Professor of Physics mpergrem@highlands.edu Floyd W-239 706-368-7529
Polizzi, Justin Assistant Professor of Chemistry jpolizzi@highlands.edu Cartersville C-207C
Shufro, Erin Chair & Assistant Professor of Chemistry eshufro@highlands.edu Cartersville C-307 678-872-8344
Smithson, Tatiana Laboratory Coordinator tsmithso@highlands.edu Cartersville C-207B 678-872-8468
Summerlin, Matt Assistant Professor of Chemistry msummerl@highlands.edu Cartersville C-275 678-872-8343

Division of Physical Sciences Chair:
Erin Shufro
Chair, Division of Physical Sciences
School of STEM
Cartersville, C307
eshufro@highlands.edu
678-872-8344