GHC Sites > School of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics > Biological Sciences

Biological Sciences

Welcome to the Division of Biological Sciences 

Welcome to the Division of Biological Sciences! The Division offers a variety of general education courses in the biological sciences that lead to careers and/or further degree opportunities in biology, agriculture, environmental science, research, education, medicine, and many other related/technical fields. Students will leave our courses with a thorough understanding of the scientific method and its implementation, major biological processes, laboratory skills, field based skills, and the technical experience required to be successful in any number of career or educational pathways. Please check out our Associate Degree pathway maps for Biology and Agriculture to learn how you can to can charge forward into graduation. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

Pathways

Agriculture Pathway Checklist and Map
Biology Pathway Checklist and Map


Biological Sciences Faculty

Biological Sciences Faculty:
Name Rank/Discipline Email Campus Office Office Phone
Baker, Mahirah Instructor of Biology mbaker@highlands.edu Floyd W-345 706-368-7516
Bates, Ashyln Laboratory Coordinator abates@highlands.edu Floyd 706-368-7530
Belwood, Jackie Associate Professor of Biology jbelwood@highlands.edu Cartersville C-105 678-872-8416
Branson, Lisa Associate Professor of Biology lbranson@highlands.edu Paulding 302 678-946-1091
Christian, Jason Division Chair
Assistant Professor of Biology
jachrist@highlands.edu Cartersville C340B 706-368-7532
Clark, Merry Professor of Biology mclark@highlands.edu Cartersville A-254E 678-872-8413
Harnden, Tom Professor of Biology tharnden@highlands.edu Marietta N-136 678-872-8015
Henderson, Sharryse Professor of Biology shenders@highlands.edu Cartersville C-305 678-872-8112
James, Kevon Laboratory Coordinator kjames@highlands.edu Cartersville 678-872-8015 678-872-8467
Knauss, Mark Professor of Biology mknauss@highlands.edu Floyd W-338 706-368-7535
Matheson, James Instructor of Biology jmatheso@highlands.edu Floyd W-343 706-368-7537
Nandi, Banhi Instructor of Biology bnandi@highlands.edu Cartersville C275I 678-872-8464
Ogaga, Ejiro Instructor of Biology eogaga@highlands.edu Douglasville 678-872-4239
Rogers, Brandy Assistant Professor of Biology brogers@highlands.edu Cartersville C-275H 678-872-8332
Subacz, Kim Assistant Professor of Biology ksubacz@highlands.edu Cartersville C-106 678-872-8843
Walczak, Ericka Instructor of Biology ewalczak@highlands.edu Marietta N-227 678-872-8482

Division of Biological Sciences Chair:
Jason Christian
Chair, Division of Biological Sciences
School of STEM
Cartersville, C340B
jachrist@highlands.edu
706-368-7532