GHC Sites > Orientation

Charger Orientation

Congratulations on your recent acceptance and welcome to the Charger family. One of the first steps to officially becoming a GHC student is attending an orientation for new students. At GHC, orientation begins with the Pre-Orientation and continues with a Charger Orientation. There are two types of orientation sessions: Charger Orientation (new freshmen, transfer, and non-traditional students) and Online Orientation (fully online students).

Charger Orientation will be delivered in a virtual format during the summer of 2020. We will miss seeing you in person but have tried to replicate the in-person orientation into a remote format. We know you are excited to get started, and we are excited to help you transition to GHC. We know that this is not the experience you thought you would have, but we promise to make the most of it!

What will a virtual orientation be like?
You will receive an email from Student Life that contains all the steps for completing orientation. The email will come no later than the date you chose when you signed up. In the email you will find several videos you’ll watch, some attachments to read, and instructions for completing a registration form that an advisor will use to register you for classes. Once you watch the videos, read the information attached, and complete the form, an advisor will register you for classes and be in touch about how to view your schedule and make any necessary changes. The advisor will also share with you dates and times you can log in to a Zoom session to learn more about the requirements of your major.

All new students are expected to attend Charger Orientation. Once admitted to the college, students will sign up for Charger Orientation through Orientation Sign Up link on the Check Admissions Status page. If you plan to take the majority of your courses online and would prefer an online orientation, you must self identify by emailing orientation@highlands.edu explaining your would like to participate in a virtual orientation with your GHC ID number once you are admitted to GHC.

Accepted High School students participating in Dual Enrollment may register for a specialized orientation session (not found on the list below) through the Orientation Sign Up link on the Check Applications Status page. Please contact dualenroll@highlands.edu for more information regarding Dual Enrollment Orientation at GHC.

Questions? Email orientation@highlands.edu.

NEW SUMMER 2020 STUDENTS (all virtual)

CARTERSVILLE

Thursday, May 14 – 9am

Wednesday, June 3 – 9am

DOUGLASVILLE

Thursday, June 4 – 9am

FLOYD

Thursday, May 28 – 9am

MARIETTA

Friday, May 8 – 9am

PAULDING

Tuesday, June 2 – 9am

 

NEW FALL 2020 STUDENTS (all virtual)

CARTERSVILLE

Thursday, June 11 – 9am

Tuesday, June 23 – 9am

Friday, July 17 – 9am

Tuesday, July 21 – 5pm

Wednesday, July 29 – 9am

Monday, August 10 – 1pm

DOUGLASVILLE

Thursday, July 16 – 9am

Tuesday, August 4 – 9am

FLOYD

Tuesday, June 16 – 9am

Monday, July 13 – 1pm

Thursday, July 23 – 9am

Wednesday, August 5 – 9am

MARIETTA

Friday, June 26 – 9am

Friday, July 10 – 9am

Friday, July 24 – 9am

Friday, August 7 – 9am

PAULDING

Thursday, June 25 – 9am

Wednesday, July 8 – 9am

Thursday, August 6 – 9am