GHC Home > Division of Humanities > English

English

books

Good reading and writing skills are essential for academic and professional success. English is one of the top majors for pre-law students and future educators. An English degree can also lead to a career in editing, copywriting, technical writing, public relations, and more. Georgia Highlands College offers English courses in composition, creative writing, and literature.

Composition I (ENGL 1101) and Composition II (ENGL 1102) offer students the opportunity to improve their English grammar, hone research and essay writing skills, and begin an exploration of literature and literary analysis. These courses are part of Area A of the Core Curriculum. Literature courses, including World Literature I & II, British Literature I & II, American Literature I & II, and African-American Literature, expose students to a variety of cultures and ideas via the written word. They facilitate both creative and critical thinking and reinforce writing skills acquired in Composition I & II. Any of these courses can be used to satisfy the Area C literature survey requirement.

For students interested in creative writing, Creative Writing I &II can be used as a Humanities electives or to fulfill area F requirements in several majors. Students may also submit their work for possible publication in GHC’s literary magazine, Old Red Kimono. The ORK features writings and artwork of GHC students and sponsors the annual “I Love GHC” photography contest.
 

English Faculty:
English Faculty:
Name Primary Campus Office Phone Email
Michelle Abbott Online web 404-545-8676 mabbott@highlands.edu
Nancy Applegate Floyd F-170 706-368-7702 napplega@highlands.edu
Danny Bellinger Paulding 409A 678-946-1019 dbelling@highlands.edu
Jesse Bishop Floyd F163 706-368-7776 jebishop@highlands.edu
Mauro Bisiacchi Marietta N228 678-872-8523 mbisiac@highlands.edu
Rick Bombard Marietta 230 678-872-8537 rbombard@highlands.edu
Cynthia Davidson Cartersville 185 678-872-8027 cdavidso@highlands.edu
Mackleen Desravines Marietta N228 706-368-7639 mdesravi@highlands.edu
Abigail Greenbaum Douglasville 134 678-872-4217 agreenba@highlands.edu
Charles Grimm Cartersville A 327 678-872-8472 cgrimm@highlands.edu
Leslie Johnston Cartersville 213 678-872-8051 ljohnsto@highlands.edu
Kristie Kemper Floyd F-136 706-368-7626 kkemper@highlands.edu
Julie Kozee Paulding 312 678-946-1016 jukozee@highlands.edu
Jeffrey Kozee Cartersville 215 678-872-8079 jkozee@highlands.edu
John Kwist Floyd F-163 706-802-5037 jkwist@highlands.edu
Jessica Lindberg Cartersville 186 678-872-8116 jlindber@highlands.edu
Frank Minor Floyd F-169 706-368-7634 fminor@highlands.edu
Mesrop Najarian Marietta     mnajaria@highlands.edu
Julia Reidy Douglasville 134 678-872-4217 jreidy@highlands.edu
Jacob Sullins Cartersville N228 678-872-8532 jsullins@highlands.edu
Rachel Wall Cartersville 220B 678-872-8474 rwall@highlands.edu
Connie Watjen Cartersville web 678-910-3459 cwatjen@highlands.edu
Cindy Wheeler Floyd F-166 706-295-6307 cwheeler@highlands.edu